8 Hours in Shanghai

On a recent voyage to Asia, I decided to make the most of my trip by booking an 8-hour layover in Shanghai before heading on to my final destination. If you’re planning to stay in China less that 72 hours, you can get a free transit visa for 18 China cities.

With only 8 hours from touchdown to takeoff, I needed to make the most of my time and plan ahead.

From Pudong International Airport, (PVG), the fastest way into the metropolis divided by the Huangpu River, is the maglev train, which will take you into the heart of the city.

IMG_0208

My first stop was The Bund — a waterfront promenade along the western bank of the Huangpu River, lined with colonial-era buildings and ornate architecture.

Arriving around 6:00am, I was able look to look across the river and see the Oriental Pearl TV Tower just as the sun was coming up. I was most impressed by how clean and orderly the city was.

I made a relaxing stop at the always luxurious Peninsula Shanghai for tea.

Then, strolling down the promenade to Fuyou Rd, where a huge bazaar lies, and the Yuyuan Garden with a 200-year-old tea house situated in the center.

 

 

Leave a Reply

